Skip to main content

How to clear the browser cache in Chrome

Your internet cache stores a copy of each web page you visit on your PC's hard drive, in order to speed up page loading times on sites you revisit within a day or two. This feature serves its intended purpose, but can cause problems during the design-proofing process, with clients still seeing the previous version of their site despite a new version being live. Sometimes just pressing your browser's 'Refresh' button can clear this problem.

If the browser refresh doesn't work then you will need to manually clear these files.

We suggest that each time you are asked to review a change made to your web site, you clear your internet cache beforehand, to avoid confusion.

1. First navigate away from any page suspected to be cached.

2. In the top-right of the browser window, click the More button (3 vertical dots).

3. Then click More tools and then click Clear browsing data.

Tip: You can also access this menu by holding the Ctrl + Shift + Delete buttons.

4. In the popup window that appears, choose a time period, to delete everything, select beginning of time.

5. In the list of options, uncheck everything except for Cache.​

Note: If you wish to clear other kinds of stored data, feel free to check the appropriate boxes. They will be cleared along with the cache in the next step.​

6. Click Clear browsing data.


7.
Once the cache has been cleared, return to the page you were previously viewing. The page will now download the latest version for you to view.

Finally

If the above steps do not fix the problem, it is possible that the files are being cached by a web server in-between your computer and our server. Please call the webteam on 01253 608013 to discuss further steps we can take to temporarily work around the problem.